21st International Latino Book Awards Ceremony

Date 2019-09-21
LocationLos Angeles, California

On September 21, 2019, I attended the 21st International Latino Book Awards Ceremony.

My debut leadership book, Supportive Accountability: How to Inspire People and Improve Performance, received the Honorable Mention Medal in the Best Business Book category. This is a tremendous honor in light of the caliber of the authors and publishing houses competing for these prestigious awards. As a first-time author and publisher, I am humbled and inspired by this year’s awards.

Congratulations to Frank H. Cruz and Rita Joiner Soza, who received the First Place Medal for Best Business Book. Their winning title, Straight Out of the Barrio Hollywood: The Adventures of Telemundo Co-founder Frank Cruz, Chicano History Professor, TV Anchorman, Network Executive, and Public Broadcasting Leader, is an inspiration to Latino entrepreneurs everywhere. Telemundo, only one of Cruz’ many endeavors, has grown into a media powerhouse delivering Spanish-language content to Hispanics in the U.S. and in more than 35 languages around the world.

The Awards

The International Latino Book Awards recognize the greatness in books by or about Latinos around the world. Winners have included the major Latino literary stars and those starting their writing career and will be the stars of tomorrow. Most of all, the awards help encourage thousands of future authors.

The Awards celebrate books in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

The Finalists

The 2019 Finalists for the 21st Annual International Latino Book Awards are another reflection of the growing quality of books by and about Latinos. About a third of the winners were from major U.S. and international publishers, a third from medium-sized publishing houses, and a third were from small publishing houses or self-published. Finalists are from across the USA and Puerto Rico, as well as from 18 other countries.

The Judges

To handle this large number of books, the Awards had 227 judges in 2019. Judges included librarians, educators, media professionals, leaders of national organizations, Pulitzer Prize winners, and elected officials.

Latino Literacy Now

The Awards are produced by Latino Literacy Now, a nonprofit organization co-founded in 1997 by Edward James Olmos and Kirk Whisler. Latino Literacy Now’s programs have now touched well over a million people.

Las Comadres para las Americas and Reforma

The International Latino Book Awards are held annually in conjunction with Las Comadres para las Americas and Reforma: The National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking (an affiliate of the American Library Association).

The American Library Association

The American Library Association (ALA) is the oldest and largest library association in the world.